Car Insurance in Tennessee

6.jpg

Whether you’re looking to get an auto insurance quote in Knoxville or in any other part of Tennessee, there are a few things you should know about Tennessee’s insurance laws. Never assume that the automobile insurance you have from your previous state of residence is enough to cover you in your new state. As a matter of fact, most insurance policies stipulate that coverage will void if you move to a new state and do not obtain the proper insurance within a certain amount of time. So what do you need to know about getting insurance in Knoxville?

Tennessee Liability Requirements

Obtaining an auto insurance quote in Knoxville, Tennessee is actually very easy. The state of Tennessee only requires that drivers carry liability coverage on their vehicles to cover any damage a driver might cause to another driver or his vehicle. The state minimum limits of liability coverage are $25,000 bodily injury coverage (or medical expenses) per driver up to a total maximum of $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. The minimum limit of property damage liability coverage a driver must carry is $10,000.

The problem with these low limits is that if you are in a serious accident the limits will be very quickly exhausted, especially when it comes to medical expenses or hospital stays. If your policy limits are exhausted you will have to pay any additional expenses out of your own pocket, something many people are unable to do. When you are shopping for auto insurance quotes in Knoxville, or anywhere in Tennessee, you should ask for several quote alternatives so that you can compare the difference in price between different, higher levels of liability coverage.

Tennessee Uninsured Motorist Coverage

The state of Tennessee does not require drivers to purchase uninsured motorist coverage but it is strongly recommend that each driver purchase at least a small amount. Some states, including neighboring South Carolina, do not require drivers to purchase any liability insurance at all. This means if you are hit by a South Carolina driver who has opted not to purchase insurance you may not be reimbursed for your medical bills or property damage. Make sure you include uninsured motorist coverage on your Knoxville auto insurance quotes.

Tennessee Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

No driver, in any state, is required to carry comprehensive and collision coverage on his vehicle unless he either wants the coverage or is required by contract (for example, a vehicle lease or finance contract). These coverage options will pay for damage to your own vehicle should you have a collision or some other type of incident.

Our site are designed to help you find and compare the best auto insurance quotes in Knoxville and the rest of Tennessee. Let us help you find the most beneficial, affordable coverage available!

Popular Articles