Alabama Car Insurance Laws

10.jpg

Car insurance is tricky business, especially if you plan on moving from one state to another. The only thing you can be sure of is that car insurance will be required no matter where you go. If you plan on searching for the cheapest car insurance in Alabama you must understand exactly what Alabama requires first.

Alabama Automobile Liability Coverage

Every vehicle in the state of Alabama is required to carry bodily injury liability coverage. This coverage will pay for medical expenses a third party may incur if you are found liable for causing an automobile accident. The minimum coverage you can purchase in the state of Alabama is a $20,000 per person, up to $40,000 per accident. In short, if one person is injured he can collect up to $20,000 maximum.

If two people are injured they can each collect up to $20,000. If multiple people are injured the maximum your insurance will pay, in total for the entire accident, is $40,000 and no one person involved can collect more than $20,000. You’ll be responsible for paying anything over those limits out of your own pocket, so be careful – the cheapest car insurance in Alabama may not necessarily offer you the best protection.

Alabama Property Damage Liability Coverage

The state of Alabama also requires all vehicles to carry property damage liability coverage. This particular coverage will pay for damage to any vehicle owned by another person that you are found liable for damaging due to an accident.

The lowest level of property damage liability required by state law is $10,000 per accident. Higher levels are available and are often recommended as a major accident can cause much more than $10,000 worth of damage. This is another reason why the cheapest car insurance in Alabama isn’t always the most practical.

Optional Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Unlike many other states, uninsured motorist coverage is an optional coverage in the state of Alabama. Uninsured motorist coverage ensures that your medical bills are paid if another driver, one with no insurance, causes an accident resulting in you experiencing bodily harm. If you do purchase uninsured motorist coverage, the insurer you work with must offer a minimum limit of $20,000 bodily injury coverage per person and up to $40,000 per accident.

Our site is designed to help you find the cheapest car insurance in Alabama but we don’t want you to feel forced to take the slimmest policy available. This why there is no obligation to purchase. Take as much time as you need when shopping around knowing that we are here to assist. Our goal is to help you find a high-quality policy that will give you the coverage you really need without breaking the bank!

Popular Articles