Minimum Liability Auto Insurance Limit in South Carolina?

7.jpg

Every state is different when it comes to the level of automobile insurance required by law. Some states require only bodily injury and property damage liability while others mandate that consumers must purchase underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage and sometimes even personal injury protection to cover their own medical bills. A very small number of states surprise the nation by not requiring any automobile insurance at all. If you plan on moving, however, you should familiarize yourself with the minimum liability for auto insurance in South Carolina.

South Carolina Financial Responsibility Laws

First of all, some states offer drivers options when it comes to proving that they can be financially responsible if they cause an accident. Some allow drivers to choose between purchasing a bond, providing the state with a cash deposit, or purchasing automobile insurance from a state approved carrier. In South Carolina, your only option is to purchase car insurance.

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in South Carolina

As in most other states, South Carolina officials have set a minimum mandatory limit of liability coverage you must have in order to drive a vehicle. Drivers are required to carry bodily injury liability limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. The minimum liability of auto insurance in South Carolina for property damage liability is $25,000 per accident.

While these are minimum coverage, any good agent would recommend you purchase a higher limit of liability. If you were in a serious car accident, involving a fatality or resulting in a permanent disability, you would not have enough coverage to pay the bills incurred by the other party involved.

Optional Coverage Options in South Carolina

Anything other than bodily injury liability and property damage liability is optional in the state of South Carolina. Some coverages you may want to consider purchasing in order to protect yourself include:

  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) or some type of medical coverage to pay for your own medical bills if you are in an accident;
  • Uninsured motorist coverage to help pay for damages to your vehicle if the other party does not have any auto insurance at all;
  • Underinsured motorist coverage to help pay for damages to your vehicle if the other party does not have enough insurance;
  • Comprehensive coverage to pay for damages to your own vehicle caused by fire, theft, vandalism and other uncontrollable causes of loss; and
  • Collision coverage to pay for damages you cause to your own vehicle during just that a collision.

While the minimum liability of auto insurance in South Carolina is relatively low, you should review your actual needs before making a final decision about what limits to purchase. Our site can help you compare auto quotes from a number of different carriers, offering different levels of liability so that you can ensure you are protected wile on the road.

Popular Articles