New drivers in the state of Oregon are often anxious to get their vehicles on the road. Oregon, like every other state, has mandatory requirements for automobile insurance and if those requirements are not met you will not be able to register your vehicle with the DMV. Before you start shopping for discount auto insurance in Oregon, you should familiarize yourself with the general requirements as mandated by the state.
Oregon state law mandates that every driver carry a minimum limit of liability. Liability coverage will pay for the damages you might cause to another person, either medically or in damage to their vehicle, if you are the cause of an accident. The minimum level of liability required in the state of Oregon is a minimum of $25,000 per person and a maximum of $50,000 per accident for medical payments as well as $10,000 per accident for damage to the other party’s vehicle. Keep this minimum level of coverage in mind as you shop for discount auto insurance in Oregon but remember that the minimum level of insurance is not always best.
All Oregon drivers are required to have a minimum level of Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, coverage. PIP coverage will contribute towards paying for your own medical expenses after an accident. The minimum level of PIP you must purchase is $15,000 and higher limits are available.
When hopping for discount auto insurance in Oregon it is important to remember that your standard health insurance is not likely to cover you in the event of an automobile accident. If you are in a serious accident, $15,000 of coverage may not be enough. PIP premiums are relatively low, so you may want to seriously consider purchasing a higher level of coverage.
Very few states require drivers to purchase underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage and the state of Oregon requires only uninsured motorist. Uninsured motorist coverage will protect you in the event you are in an accident with a person who does not have his own insurance. You must choose a minimum limit of $25,000 per person with a maximum of $50,000 per accident in medical coverage. You are not required to purchase uninsured coverage for damage to your vehicle itself.
When shopping for discount auto insurance in Oregon, or in any state, it is important to remember not to sacrifice the quality of your coverage just to get a cheaper rate. Our sites are designed to help you get the maximum coverage available at the lowest price available – exactly what will keep you safest on the road!