Are you looking for affordable car insurance in Idaho? Your first line of defense when it comes to finding great rates is to understand exactly what the automobile insurance requirements are in your state. Idaho, like every other state, has very specific minimum requirements for drivers and if you don't know what they are you could find yourself either paying way too much for car insurance or facing fines for not having enough coverage.
In the state of Idaho, drivers are required to prove financial responsibility – or that they can pay for damages if they cause an accident. There are three main ways to establish financial responsibility. They include:
Obviously, the safest way of proving financial responsibility is by purchasing affordable car insurance in Idaho.
Idaho state law requires you carry bodily injury and property damage liability coverage. The minimum level of bodily injury liability coverage you must carry is $25,000 per person up to $50,000 per accident. The minimum level of property damage liability you must carry is $15,000 per accident.
Idaho state law, unlike other states, does not mandate that you carry personal injury protection (for your own medical bills), uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, or property damage coverage (like comprehensive and collision) for your own vehicle.
Finding affordable car insurance in Idaho is relatively easy. Make sure you start looking for new coverage at least 30-60 days before your current policy expires to ensure you have enough time to gather quotes, safe for a deposit, and make the transition.
Remember, finding affordable car insurance in Idaho doesn't mean you have to take the least expensive. You don't want to take the minimum required limits of liability if you have assets to protect, like a house or car. Before signing up for a new policy, shop around and get quotes from several different carriers. Once you've compared the coverage you have now you can start to increase or decrease coverage options to see which work best for you!